The Texas expedited trial rules are expected to go into effect this March. Cases involving $100,000 or less in damages will fall under these new rules. The calculation of $100,000 includes all of your damages, even attorney's fees, but it doesn't include post-judgment interest. If the case involves nonmonetary damages, then it will not fall under the rules. The process for handling written discovery will change. Parties will be limited in the amount of written discovery that can be exchanged. Additionally, the total trial will now only last 10 hours. A party will have 5 hours to complete voir dire, opening, examinations, and close.
Find the new Rules and the Supreme Court of Texas Order here.
Jennifer R. Ashmore is an Associate at The Bassett Firm. Ms. Ashmore's practice focuses on Transportation Litigation, Products Liability, Personal Injury, Premises Liability, and Family Law. She received her B.B.A. from Southwest Texas State University in 2001 and her J.D. from Texas Wesleyan University School of Law in 2004.