Whether you are a trucking company with 2 power units or 600 tractor-trailers, chances are, if you are in business long enough, one of your drivers will be involved in a catastrophic accident. When that happens, you need to already have a plan in place setting forth how you will respond.
On September 1, 2017, Texas H.B. Bill No. 62 took effect, which is a new law that prohibits texting while driving.1 Under the new Texas law, texting while driving and the use of a portable wireless device to read, write, or send an electronic message, while operating a vehicle, is now prohibited. Violations are punishable by a Class C misdemeanor. The fine for first time offenders is $25-$99 and $100-$200 for second time offenders. The new law does not preempt the existing state laws. ALL Texas drivers must comply with the new law.